Skip to main content

Castle Exteriors

Pageant Field Lowres


Within the 64 acres of rolling landscaped gardens, discover the sculptured topiary peacocks and an island with a secret past.

Discover More
DAV 1625

Horrible Histories Maze

Choose your path through time to unravel history in the world’s first Horrible Histories adventure maze!

Castle Istock 000004513306 Lowres

Towers & Battlements

Explore the many towers and ramparts of Warwick Castle, with centuries of fascinating architecture and amazing views in all directions

Discover More

The Mill & Engine House

There has been a mill at the present site since the late 14th century. It was originally used to grind corn, and in the 17th century an engine house was built for pumping water into the castle for domestic needs. In the 18th century the mill’s half-timbered structure was largely rebuilt in a more fashionable Gothic style.

In 1880 a fire gutted the mill and destroyed the machinery except for the waterwheel. It was shortly after this disaster that the electricity generating plant was installed, in 1894. The electricity was first officially powered up for the 5th Countess of Warwick’s birthday.